Republican Chairs Air Dirty Laundry

LIBERTY, March 29, 2016 - The Republican Party of Texas states on their website that anyone "becomes a Republican by voting in the Republican Primary or Republican Primary Run-off." At the start of the Liberty County Republican Party Convention held on March 19, 2016, there were 48 people in attendance and all those attendees were verified by the Convention Secretary and Credentials Committee (appointed by Temporary Convention Chair Ken Coleman). Additionally, the Executive Committee of the Liberty County Republican Party is comprised of the County Chairman, his officers and the individually elected Precinct Chairmen. They are the voting members and decision- making body of the Liberty County Republican Party.

A press release was issued on the afternoon of March 21, 2016 by Chairman Coleman and was not seen or approved by the Executive Committee of the Party. Furthermore, Chairman Coleman was NOT in attendance for a large majority of the county convention. We seek to present the facts of what happened at the Liberty County Republican Convention and combat any misconceptions or rumors. All current and newly-elected Executive Committee members releasing this statement were present for the ENTIRE duration of the convention and feel we speak for a majority present.

"The morning started with breakfast and individual precinct conventions, where we experienced record turnout. After calling the county convention to order, Temporary Convention Chairman, Ken Coleman, asked for a report of the Permanent Organization Committee, who presented their nominee for Permanent Convention Chair. The Organization Committee nominated Ryan Daniel, and Ken Coleman was nominated from the floor. The standing vote was 28 for Ryan Daniel and 8 for Ken Coleman, out of 48 delegates in attendance. When the results were announced, the following eight individuals- Gayle and Ken Coleman, Terri and Randy Bivins, Paul Newton, Leslie King, Neal Thornton, and Marion Parrott left the convention floor. After calling for a brief recess and prayer for order to be restored, the convention proceeded with reports from the Permanent Nominations and Permanent Resolutions Committees. All who applied to be a delegate to the State Convention were seated as either a delegate or alternate. Furthermore, the resolutions presented were the same resolutions passed through the Temporary Resolutions Committee and were very conservative. They were pro-life from the womb to the tomb, pro-family, and pro-liberty. A report of all resolutions passed will be sent on to the Republican Party of Texas. Following the convention, the decision was made to allow tempers to cool and the events of the day to stay at the convention."

After the release of erroneous information by individuals not present for the duration of the convention nor authorized to speak on behalf of the Executive Committee, we feel it is necessary to publish an accurate record of the proceedings.


Ryan Daniel
Precinct 19 Chairman
Liberty County Republican Party Chairman- Elect

Klint Bush
Precinct 3 Chairman
Liberty County Republican Party Vice- Chairman

Sherial Lawson
Precinct 30 Chairman
2008 National Convention Delegate
Past Liberty County Republican Party Treasurer

Rodney Sellers
Precinct 1 Chairman
Convention Permanent Resolutions Chair

Brian Smith
Precinct 17 Chairman

Ray Ansley
Precinct 26 Chairman

Billie Williams
Precinct 27 Chairman

Jeff LeBlanc
Precinct 10 Chairman- Elect

Doc Sikes
Precinct 8 Chairman- Elect

Share |
Find Local T.V. Listings

Enter your zip code: Reference tools for you Forms for your site



Copyright � All rights reserved

For questions, comments, advertising information or to send a press release