AUSTIN, July 2, 2015 - Most crashes in Texas result from speeding, failure to yield, driving under the influence of alcohol, following too closely and running red lights and stop signs.
Avoid a Collision
Check for injuries. If people are hurt, tend to them.
Move your car out of the roadway to a safer place where you can exchange names, addresses, phone numbers, vehicle identification numbers, vehicle license plate numbers, insurance information and driver license information.
Note the location of the crash and get the names, addresses and phone numbers of any witnesses. If the vehicles cannot be moved, protect the scene by setting up flares or raising your hood.
When to Call Police
Always call the police when:
If you are in a collision and no one is hurt, don't wait for the police before moving your vehicle. If you can drive the vehicle, the law requires you to move it out of the flow of traffic.
If there is damage to the vehicle, stop and exchange information. If someone is hurt, render aid and notify law enforcement. If you hit an unattended vehicle, find the driver or write your name and address on a note explaining what happened. You must also include the owner's name and address if the vehicle you are driving doesn't belong to you.
When to File a Crash Report
If a law enforcement officer is not investigating the crash, you must file a crash report with TxDOT within 10 days if any of the following conditions apply:
Texas law requires drivers to have basic liability coverage. If you don't have auto insurance, you can be fined up to $350 (or more if you've been ticketed before for no insurance). Be ready to show your insurance card if an officer asks you for it, and inform your insurance company of a collision right away.