Taylor-Odom Foundation Scholarship Recipients

DAYTON April 18, 2018 ⎯ The directors of the Taylor-Odom Foundation are pleased to announce that it is awarding the sum of $92,000 in college scholarships for the 2018 calendar year. The recipients are six Liberty County students graduating from area high schools in May.

The recipients are:

  Mason Johnson, Liberty Brooklynn Wagner, Dayton
  Cheyenne DePriest, Dayton Cade Ray, Hardin
  Makayla Passman, Tarkington Kyle McClellan, Hardin

Thirty-one students from Dayton, Hardin, Hull-Daisetta, Liberty and Tarkington submitted applications which were reviewed by the Taylor-Odom Foundation directors before final selections were made. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide financial aid to graduating high school seniors who might not otherwise be able to afford advanced education. Eligible students must reside in Liberty County and graduate from either Hardin, Liberty, Dayton, Hull-Daisetta or Tarkington High School. The amount of the scholarships varies based upon a student’s pursuit of a four-year degree, a two-year degree or vocational/technical certification from accredited institutions in the State of Texas. Evaluations are also made with respect to the applicant’s character, general attitude, initiative, leadership and potential for achievement.

This is the first year for the granting of scholarships by the Taylor-Odom Foundation. The Foundation was founded to honor two parents, Davey Lea Taylor Odom and Douglas E. “Doc” Odom, who instilled in their children that knowledge through higher education and hard work are keys to a good life.

Find Local T.V. Listings

Enter your zip code: Reference tools for you Forms for your site



Copyright � i-dineout.com. All rights reserved

For questions, comments, advertising information or to send a press release