Disaster SNAP (D-SNAP) Information Updated

DAYTON, September 29, 2017 - The Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program offers short-term food assistance benefits to families recovering from a disaster. D-SNAP is designed to help when people return to their homes and have access to electricity and grocery stores. Benefits are loaded on a Lone Star Card within three days of applying, and for eligible families, the amount is equal to two months of the maximum amount of SNAP benefits, based on household size.

There is a limited period of time to apply for D-SNAP, based on your county of residence. To be eligible, you must:
§ Be from a county that has been declared a federal disaster area*.
§ Have experienced a loss of income, destruction of your home or a disaster-related
expense, such as temporary shelter or home repairs.
§ Not have been getting regular SNAP food benefits at the time of the disaster.
§ Meet certain income limits.

*Federal disaster counties are:
Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wharton

Applying for D-SNAP
You must apply in person at a designated D-SNAP location in your county of residence. You will not be able to apply online. D-SNAP applications will be accepted for a limited amount of time in each county. See below for designated D-SNAP locations.

To apply you’ll need to show:
• Proof of identity - Examples include a driver’s license or other government-issued ID

Displaced Families
When a county has an active D-SNAP program, you can go to any local HHS benefits office across the state to apply for D-SNAP during the days that program is active in your home county.
If the county you are applying in has a designated D-SNAP location, you must go to that site instead of a local office. See below for designated D-SNAP locations.

D-SNAP locations
Residents of the following counties may only apply for D-SNAP during the dates listed below. You will need to apply on certain days, depending on the first letter of your last name. Unless otherwise noted, D-SNAP locations will be open from 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Oct. 2 through Oct. 8
Jefferson Liberty

Date Last name
Oct. 2 A - C
Oct. 3 D - H
Oct. 4 l- M
Oct. 5 N - R
Oct. 6 S - Z
Oct. 7 - 8 Anyone

Jefferson County – Port Arthur
Central Mall Shopping Center
3100 Hwy 365
Port Arthur, TX 77627

Jefferson County – Beaumont
Ford Park Complex
5115 Interstate Hwy. 10
Beaumont, TX 77705

Liberty County - Dayton
Community Center
801 S. Cleveland St.
Dayton, TX 77535

If you have additional questions about D-SNAP, call 2-1-1 and after picking a language choose option 6.

Alexis N. Cordova, M.S.
County Extension Agent
Family & Consumer Sciences

Find Local T.V. Listings

Enter your zip code: Reference tools for you Forms for your site



Copyright � i-dineout.com. All rights reserved

For questions, comments, advertising information or to send a press release